The Association for Translation Studies in Africa (ATSA) was founded on Saturday 4 September 2016 at the University of Nairobi in Kenya, when its constitution was officially accepted by members attending the first ATSA general meeting. (Read the accepted constitution here.) The meeting was held after the conclusion of the first ATSA conference and was attended by Translation Studies scholars and students from Burundi, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa and Tanzania, among other countries. The minutes of the first ATSA general meeting are available here.

At the general meeting, members also voted for ATSA board members who will be steering the association for the next two years. The board consists of five permanent members, who will be able to co-opt additional members as necessary. The five permanent board members are Prof. Paul Bandia (President), Prof. Kobus Marais (Vice-President), Prof. Ilse Feinauer (Treasurer), Mr. Ebenezer Tedjouong (Secretary) and Ms. Lelanie de Roubaix (Website and Marketing). Read more about the board members and find their contact information here.

It was also decided that ATSA Conferences will be held every two years, and that ATSA general meetings will coincide with ATSA Conferences. More information on the 2018 ATSA Conference will be posted on the ATSA website as soon as the details are finalised.

Scholars, students and practitioners who want to associate themselves with translation studies in Africa are invited to join ATSA. We conceptualise translation studies as widely as possible, including interpreting, intercultural communication, intersemiotic translation, multimodal communication, sociologies of translation and all other forms of rewriting and recreation. More information on how to become a member of ATSA is availble here.